Skip to content

to the lonely place

February 27, 2009

If I had money, I would have found myself on a bus to Galway today. I would have brought my boyfriend, my camera and some clothes, and together we would have watched the sheep and cows passing by, or, they would have watched us, as we passed by. In a bus, on our way to Galway.

And maybe we would have tried to catch a ferry. The ferry to Inis Mór, as we did in January.

It is a good choice, to visit Inis Mór in January.

Why? Because it is off-season, of course. The tourist knows that January means cold and rainy days in Ireland, and therefore most of the b&b’s are closed. And the restaurants. And some of the pubs. There isn’t many people on Inis Mór in January, and the ones who are don’t need more than one place to eat, two places to drink. They are locals, and their conversation goes on Irish, they listen to Irish radio, they keep the old language alive.

And they keep the Irish agriculture alive.

All over the island it is green marks, surrounded by fences of stones. It is thousands of them, the stones are everywhere, and so are the green spots. And the cows. Bulls. Horses. Some goats. And you are alone with them. The animals, the nature.

I guess you have to share the nature with other enthusiasts in the summer, but in January you are all by yourself wherever you choose to go. You can walk the cliffs alone, watch the seals alone, hear the waves break.

If I had money this weekend, I would have caught the ferry and walked the cliffs, not alone, with my boyfriend.

Or we might have travelled to another place.

Where would you go?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mediacritics permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:08 pm

    Ah. Yeah. Inis Mor was great. And Galway. What a lovely city. There is nothing better than a city with pubs like Galway has.

  2. livjorunnsagmo permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:18 pm

    I would go home. I´m homesick and can`t figure out how to add more blogs to my bloglist. Remember the name on the html and css program, by the way?

    • February 27, 2009 7:25 pm

      Yeah, Galway is a beautiful city, and the pubs… I love it!

      Liv Jorunn, the name of the program is Komodo Edit, and it works like the program at school. And soon it is our birthday, that will make you happy again!

Leave a Reply

