Skip to content

give me more

March 4, 2009

All my life I have longed to be alone in a place like this. Even when everything was going well, as it often did. I can say that much. That it often did. I have been lucky. But even then, for instance in the middle of an embrace and someone whispering words in my ear I wanted to hear, I could suddenly get a longing to be in a place where there was only silence. Years might go by and I did not think about it, but that does not mean that I did not long to be there. And now I am here, and it is almost exactly as I had imagined it.

I have just finished reading a book, a book that caught me, hit me right in the heart. It hit me so hard, that I feel committed to share it with you.

“Out Stealing Horses” by Per Petterson is a beautiful book about growing old, about lost times, about how single episodes can change your life completely.

I’m not much of a book reviewer, I don’t know how to put the right words on the feelings I get when I read something I really like. I rather give you a link, let the New York Times do it for me. And Readysteadybook.com, if you want a second (or third) opinion.

What I can say, is that “Out Stealing Horses” is one of these books where nothing really happens, but still you have to keep on reading, turn one more page, and suddenly it is over, and you feel enlightened, you see things in your life you haven’t noticed before.

And you long for more. I know I do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mariana permalink
    March 28, 2009 3:16 pm

    Dear Aniken,

    I read your blog and I really enjoyed it!!!! You have an extraordinary sensibility and I don’t know why exactly, but you almost made me cry… I’ll defenetly check out the recomendations you give us!!!!

    • March 30, 2009 5:39 pm

      Thank you very much, Mariana!

      I’m glad you like what I’m writing, and I will try to keep up the good work:)

Trackbacks

  1. what’s lost shall be found « in my eyes

Leave a Reply

