Skip to content

give me people

March 12, 2009

Newspapers are important to me.

I read the newspaper every day. Or, that’s a lie. I used to do read the newspaper every day, and I still do, when I’m in Norway. But here in Ireland? I don’t.

And I know why.

There are no people in the Irish newspaper. At least not the normal ones. It seems like it’s just room for the criminals and the ones with power. Or money. But not the regular Irishman.

It is the regular Irishman I’m looking for. I want to know how the people of Dublin feel about the shooting in their neighbourhood. I want to know how the taxi drivers feel about working 17 hours for less than 50 Euro, and what the bus passengers think when the government cuts their route.

But no-one asks them.

That was what I thought, until I bought the Irish Examiner last week. Two pages contain an investigative report about the forgotten generation in Ireland.  The journalist Jennifer Hough has visited the people living in isolation. Talked to them. And she describes them to her readers, to me.

It makes me care.

Irish examiner

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lars permalink
    March 15, 2009 12:02 am

    Great. That is exactly why I don’t read papers as well.

Leave a Reply

