Skip to content

music for work

April 9, 2009


How is it possible to work without listening to music?

For me, it’s not. I need music.

I need music in my life, in my everyday life, when walking alone to the bus stop, when sitting on the grass in a park, when having fun with my friends.

But especially I need it when I’m suppose to concentrate on something.

Like now. Now I’m writing an investigative report on waste management in Ireland. But I can’t write a word without listen to something.

Today I’ve chosen Yann Tiersen.

Like I often do, when I’m trying to get my writing done. His tones are so beautiful, they are playing with me, get me to think, to find the right words.

What music do you choose?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lars permalink
    April 9, 2009 8:42 pm

    His music is good for about everything. And when it comes to the movies his music is from, they are great as well. Especially Good Bye Lenin.

  2. The Stig permalink
    May 6, 2009 8:02 pm

    I like music when I write, but it can be disturbing when I read (which is what I do the most these days). On the other hand, noises from neigbours and stuff outside can be even more annoying, so sometimes I need music anyway.

    When reading I would choose something slow and non-stressful. I have a record by the group Earth called HEX something which is very slow, calm and somewhat moody, music that isn’t really going anywhere. Perfect for reading! Some of the slower songs by Electric Wizard og Reverend Bizarre works as well.

    For writing I would choose something a little faster but not too fast. Black Sabbath or something in that vein.

    If you have spotify, try searching for Reverend Bizarre and then play the song called Apocalyptic Riders. Pretty cool, at least the first half!

    Cheers!

    (how’bout that? Great English, huh?😀 )

    • May 10, 2009 9:59 am

      Oh, I’m so glad that you left a comment here, Stig!

      I agree with you, music is more important when I try to concentrate on some writing, it can be disturbing when reading.

      But today I’m doing both, and then music is still good. If I had spotify, I would have tried out your tips, but the programme doesn’t work for people with Irish ip-adresses. Too bad.

  3. The Stig permalink
    May 10, 2009 2:18 pm

    Now that’s weird!
    Don’t feel like reading today but i kinda have to because I didn’t get much work done yesterday. Damn!
    Maybe I’ll just put on some Yann Tiersen and try my best😛

  4. The Stig permalink
    May 10, 2009 2:23 pm

    By the way, when I read the “I need music” with bold letters in your post, it kinda reminds me of this song:

    And oh, that Yann Tiersen stuff was pretty nice! Soothing music🙂

  5. The Stig permalink
    May 10, 2009 4:52 pm

    Yup, I’ll try listening more to it when I write my home exam later this month! Now I’m back reading to the tones of Earths Hex-album. Absolutely brilliant! Like reading in a trance😛

Leave a Reply

