Skip to content

happy examtimes

May 10, 2009
(Screenshot of the Doonesbury website. Click on the image to go there.)

(Screenshot of the Doonesbury website. Click on the image to go there.)

I am one of the few people I know that actually enjoys reading for my exams. I have always liked getting new knowledge. I have liked planning my study days, writing time schedules, when am I going to do what when.

I remember five years ago, and my final oral exam in mathematics. First of all, I remember how scared I was when I walked into the exam-room. Really scared. But before that, two days earlier, I had a good time. I enjoyed structuring my day, splitting it into parts containing statistics, algebra, geometry. And I enjoyed finding the right answers by getting new knowledge.

The last five years, I have faced several exams, and of course, I have been stressed, like everyone else. But I also enjoy it. The studying part of it, that is.

Especially I like reading for the exam I’m about to have this Wednesday. Among the topics is cartoon journalism, and I have fallen in love with at least one of the readings.

An interview with the cartoonist Garry Trudeau, by Gene Weingarten for Washington Post. (Click to see a preview of the article.) The interview is just an amazing piece of journalism. Why? Because I feel that I know the guy after reading it.

Garry Trudeau is the man behind the cartoon Doonesbury, which has shocked the American public again and again the last 39 years. He uses his comic figures to put the powerful to account, and the last years the US invasion of Iraq has received much of the attention. His character B.D. also went to Iraq, where he lost his leg, and ended up with post traumatic stress disease.

Through his fantasy figures, Trudeau draws a picture of the real horror in the times of war. In a way, it can count as journalism, at least the working methods he uses, when he interviews soldiers, searching for the absolute truth.

When you have exams about topics like that, studying is fun. Don’t you think?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lars permalink
    May 10, 2009 10:51 am

    I have a feeling that I might be a bit less excited about these exams. I look forward to get them done:)

  2. June 3, 2009 2:51 pm

    Å, jeg skulle lest dette tidligere, eller hørt at du blant annet leser om cartoon journalism;
    jeg ville nemlig anbefalt Joe Sacco sin Palestine, som er ren og skjær rapportering fra konflikten mellom Israel og Palestina i tegnet form. Muligens har du lest eller hørt om den; jeg vil anta den er ganske sentral i ett slikt emne.
    Anyhu; den er absolutt å anbefale!
    Men viktigst av alt; hvordan gikk det med eksamenene?

    • June 3, 2009 9:27 pm

      Ja! Jeg har hørt om den, men jeg har ikke lest den. Men jeg har lest en tegneseriereportasje han hadde fra Irak, og den var fin.

      Eksamenene gikk bra, ihvertfall tror jeg det, vi har ikke fått resultatene ennå. Men inntil det motsatte er bevist lever jeg i en god ferieboble i Oslo:)

Leave a Reply

