Skip to content

picture monday

June 8, 2009

nordmarka

One of the things I like the most about Oslo, is that it’s surrounded by woods and green fields, with walking tracks all over. I happen to live in the north of Oslo, and Nordmarka is my closest neighbour. I couldn’t be luckier.

Many of my earliest memories are about trips in Nordmarka, both in the summer and in the winter.

I remember the weekend my whole family spent in a tent by a lake in the woods. The day we walked by a river, and ate our lunch while watching a waterfall. The day me and my father rode our bikes to Ullevålseter, a cottage open for all travellers, a place to rest, eat lunch and by hot chocolate. I remember how I fell of my bike on the way home, that I lost my tooth, that a woman gave me a coin to comfort me.

When I’m back home now, the whole forest is full of memories. I love walking on the tracks among the trees, just listening to the birds, the wind. The memories.

This week’s photo is taken in Maridalen, one of the gates to Nordmarka. Isn’t it beautiful?

One Comment leave one →
  1. stig permalink
    June 22, 2009 6:38 pm

    don’t you think that bus driver britt deserves a post on your blog? :p

Leave a Reply

