Skip to content

in need of distractions

August 27, 2009
(screenshot of Heiko Waechter's website. click on the image to go there.)

(screenshot of Heiko Waechter's website. click on the image to go there.)

I have to admit that I do spend must of my time thinking, dreaming, fantasying about Thailand these days. About the big step.

But sometimes I need to get my mind over on something else. To kill some of the butterflies inside me. To relax.

And the only way to kill my butterflies is to distract them. Or to distract me, may be.

Anyway, some weeks ago, I found this amazing photoblog by Heiko Waechter. Today I finally got the chance to look at every single photo he has posted, and I just have one thing to say.

He simply takes my breath away.

I love his angles, the way he focuses on details, the mood in his photos.

The way he combines his photos with a few words, a title, straight to the point. He makes me smile, laugh, think.

He himself says this about his work:

I like taking photos of the urban environment, the spaces and structures that form the stage, and the people and objects that bring it to life. I tend to focus on details, rather than the full picture, seeking order in chaos, and beauty in the mundane.

It was through the following photo I discovered Heiko Waechter. This one was published at FWAPhoto the 12. of August, and both the shoes,the colours, the light, and of course the angle caught my attention.

What do you think?

(screenshot of Heiko Waechter's website. Click on the image to go there.)

(screenshot of Heiko Waechter's website. Click on the image to go there.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 7:36 pm

    They are really cool and meaningfull! Thanks for showing me. What is this book called and where can you get it in Oslo?

    • Damian permalink
      August 29, 2009 8:30 am

      Heiko’s photos are all displayed online at http://www.heikowaechter.com

      • August 29, 2009 1:38 pm

        Yeah, that’s true, it’s that website I’ve linked to aswell, both in the text and you can click on the photos.

        I don’t know about any book, but maybe he will make one later one day, I certainly hope so🙂

Leave a Reply

