Skip to content

more than nothing

September 1, 2009
(From the exibition "More than nothing," photo by Marecel Leliënhof.)

(From the exhibition "More than nothing," photo by Marcel Leliënhof.)

I have always wondered how my life would have been if I couldn’t see. If everything was dark, always. Would I make it, in my everyday life? Would I manage to go between places, without seeing where I am?

Sometimes I try to imagine, by closing my eyes. But of course, it never works out. Because when the difficulties start, I can just open them again.

But not everyone can do that, and Thursday a photo exhibition will open in Oslo, showing what it’s like to have an impaired vision. 18 photographers have taken part in the exhibition, and some of the photos are published in this article by the Norwegian newspaper Dagbladet.

And they opened my eyes.

Because according to the article, almost everyone with an illness affecting the eyes see something, in one way or another. While some see the world as a tunnel, where only the centre is visible, others just have a dark spot in the centre, while the surrounding things are visible.

The photo above is taken by Marcel Leliënhof, and he has focused on an illness affecting the retinal. Imagine that everything you try to focus on are moving, like waves, all the lines are blurry and bent.

I guess I would have gone mad.

But the photo is a good one, and I’m definitely going to experience the whole exhibition someday soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 7:06 am

    Where and when is this?

    • September 2, 2009 8:20 pm

      At Rådhusplassen, from this thursday until the end of October. In Oslo, that is:)

Leave a Reply

